30 Days? Pssh. How about 3 months?

So remember a little ways back when I said I was doing something that was really going to push my limits? Well, when I said that, what I really meant was that I signed up for something that may potentially lead me to die on the side of a mountain.

Let me explain.

I have decided to sign up for a 30.1-mile, single-day hike. That is 12 hours of hiking. 10 miles at elevations over 6000 feet. Hitting a trail at 4 AM and hiking for almost 2 hours in the dark.

Why might I do this you ask? Well, there are a few reasons:

  1. I need an excuse to leave my house.
  2. I only made it through 3 days of my 30 day fitness challenge, so figured I’d try for something a little more extreme.
  3. Go big, or go home.
  4. I am 25 and determined to get into the best shape of my life – this can only help.
  5. Oh and most importantly, it benefits a really fabulous cause. It’s for charity y’all.

The event is the Fall run of the EXTREME Hike for a Cure to benefit the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. I got involved with the organization last year when one of my closest friends participated in an event. The people in the organization were incredible, and I could see the impact already made by their tremendous efforts.

Now is an exciting time for the CF cause, and I am so thrilled to be a part of the race to find a cure. In February Kalydeco, a drug which treats the symptoms of CF, was introduced onto the market and is expected to drastically improve the lives of those living with the genetic disease. Kalydeco specifically addresses the cells which line the lungs, helping to normalize lung function. Two additional drugs are currently in development to further treat the symptoms of CF and help those suffering lead healthy, normal lives. A cure has never felt closer.

So while I’m gasping through three months of daily training and weekend hikes so I can ultimately struggle a little bit less as I trudge up the steep incline of a mountain, what can YOU do? Support me and the cause! Visit my fundraising page and help me reach my donation goal. No amount is too little or too great, and 90 cents on every dollar goes directly to funding CF research so we can push these life-saving drugs into the market.

Here is a sneak peek of the view (hopefully I’ll be able to break for photo ops!)

160px-LookingGlassRockFromPilotZoom

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

