Today I almost Died–Really

I’m not really sure what I want to write about today. But I suppose I could start with how I nearly died this morning.

Grim-Reaper-the-grim-reaper-18492140-1920-1200

Let me begin with some back story.

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve had extremely terrible vision. It actually came up in a work meeting today that myself and two of my co-workers (also geniuses by the way so maybe it’s a trend) happened to wear eye patches at some point in our youth.

For me, it was in an attempt to strengthen my right eye because it was practically useless for actual sight. The doctor wanted me to wear it all the time – which I refused because even at eight I was still preoccupied with looking cool. We compromised and agreed I would read with it on for 30 minutes every day. I compromised even further and did it once a week for about 3 weeks.

Needless to say I have been wearing glasses since I was eight years old, and without them I’m blind as hell.

M1550385-Girl,_aged_8,_wearing_eye_patch_to_treat_lazy_eye-SPL

OMG the title of this picture was actually 8-year-old girl wearing an eye patch to treat lazy eye. It is like they stole my life story.

Since my eye sight has gotten progressively worse over the years, my most common recurring nightmare is one in which I’m driving and all of a sudden my vision completely goes away. I find myself suddenly struck by blindness hurtling down a highway in the dark and the rain. I always wake up right as I’m crashing into an unknown object which will mostly likely lead to my body being mercilessly thrown from the vehicle – the quick, violent and tragic ending of my life.

This morning my nightmare actually took place – albeit without the gruesome ending thank god. (That or I’ve been walking around all day like Bruce Willis and I’m in fact blogging from the great beyond.)

I have very little patience. So when I got into my car this morning and the windshield was slightly fogged up I just turned on my windshield wipers to wipe away the sheen every few seconds. Well, as I drove it just got worse. I finally put down the windows and turned on the defrost hoping if I tried all the options one might work. But damn, my windshield would not clear up. All of a sudden I found myself on the on-ramp of 485 – the sun hit my windshield at just the perfect angle and I could not see a damn thing. I frantically turned up the windshield wipers in a vain attempt to clear my view – but to no avail. I was completely blinded, on 485, during the morning rush.

Talk about a wake up moment. It was like I had downed 8 cups of coffee. I was now wide awake for sure.

There were a few terrifying seconds where I was in motion but completely unable to see what was in front of me or behind. I actually had a moment where I swore I must still be asleep because no way was this actually happening. I had a mental image of my poor little Civic being smushed like a glossy black bug.

Luckily, I happened to be able to pull over on the shoulder and wait for a few minutes until my windshield finally cleared up. But it scared the bejeezus out of me. I believe the universe just sent me a message to slow the F*** down. Now I need to just figure out if the defrost is supposed to be set to hot or cold in the summer…. I can never get it right.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

