Why Breakfast At Tiffany’s proves the 60s were awesome

Finding myself alone on Valentine’s day (but stubbornly entertaining my inner romantic) I decided to watch some classic Audrey in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Now, how I had nearly made it to my twenty fifth year without having seen this movie is beyond me, but this has been rectified.

 

Best. Movie. Ever. My opinion of 60s cinema has been forever changed.

 

Previously when I thought of classic greats (think Madonna, Audrey, Doris) I acknowledged they were gorgeous and iconic, but I had assumed I could forego actually watching their films because they’d be tame, outdated, or un-relatable. I was wrong. Let me repeat, because I do not say this often – I was WRONG.

 

For those who have never watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s (please resolve this immediately) here are the plot elements:

  1. Prostitution
  2. Drug syndicates
  3. Child brides
  4. Illicit affairs
  5. The mafia
  6. Petty theft

Until yesterday evening I envisioned Breakfast at Tiffany’s as 90 minutes of  Audrey Hepburn wearing sparkly jewelry and a doe-eyed expression. I have never been more pleasantly surprised. The dialogue was witty. The scandals were implicit. So much of the story was told via clever cinematography. My favorite scene was when Holly and Paul shoplift from the 5 and 10 store. Not a single word was spoken and yet it managed to invoke suspense and charm.

 

I have an entirely new perspective on the 60s (and subsequently old people who comprise the 60s subculture). Old people rock. The 60s rocked. I am populating my Netflix queue with anything and everything filmed in the 60s.

 

Love you Audrey! (although I do blame you for the cultural shift of ‘skinny bitch is the new black’)

audreyhepburn

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

